Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Interpreting Canadian Antique Gun Rules

Business Member Old Guns Canada's Avatar

Interpreting Canadian Antique Gun Rules

Before I continue, please note that I am not a lawyer or police officer, and my knowledge of Canadian Antique Gun Law is based strictly on my own experience and observations. The “Regulations Prescribing Antique Firearms” (SOR/98-464) states that a firearm is deemed antique if it is one of the following (I am leaving out shotguns and rifles):
    1. A reproduction of a flintlock, wheel-lock or matchlock firearm, other than a handgun, manufactured after 1897.
    Handguns
    2. A handgun manufactured before 1898 that is either a muzzle-loading gun or capable of discharging only rim-fire cartridges, other than 22 Calibre Short, 22 Calibre Long or 22 Calibre Long Rifle cartridges.
    3. A handgun manufactured before 1898 that is capable of discharging centre-fire cartridges, other than a handgun designed or adapted to discharge 32 Short Colt, 32 Long Colt, 32 Smith and Wesson, 32 Smith and Wesson Long, 32-20 Winchester, 38 Smith and Wesson, 38 Short Colt, 38 Long Colt, 38-40 Winchester, 44-40 Winchester, or 45 Colt cartridges.
    From the above extract you can see that the rules are quite clear, and anyone who owns or purchases an antique firearm is well advised to obtain an “antique declaration” from the RCMP Firearms Technical Division. Although this process is voluntary, it may prevent future headaches. To recap, let us look at the rules:
    1. This rule states clearly that no handgun, no matter what sort of ignition system it uses, is considered antique if it was manufactured after 1897. Rifles and shotguns are exceptions.
    2. Any rim fire hand gun made before 1898 (and that is January 1, 1898) is deemed to be antique unless it is a .22. Reason being that you can still buy .22 ammo through commercial channels. .22’s are never considered antique in Canada, no matter how old.